Absolutely Fun and True Fact #2

I am currently reading The Life of Samuel Johnson for my exam lists, and enjoying it fairly, even though it only has a claim on my Interest and Approbation rather than upon my Heart’s feelings. I received the Book in a nice hardcover edition from Amazon, and have just come upon two pages in the middle that are literally uncut. I cannot read them without fetching a knife. I have never had to cut open pages in my life, and I cannot tell you how much it delights me to do so with a book written in the 18th Century.

Published in: on April 27, 2007 at 12:39 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://coffeeandcritique.wordpress.com/2007/04/27/absolutely-fun-and-true-fact-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. hey there;
    don’t want to be rude or what but…
    humpf…
    do you know that in France, “René” is an old-fashioned Grandpa name, the kind of name you’d give a grumpy old fart wearing obnoxious tartan slippers, smoking a pipe, going hunting rabbits in the pinède and having ducki-liver paté and red wine for breakfast….
    … well,i just thought i’d let you know, Mr Daumal…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

